BeeHex

From Deletionpedia.org: a home for articles deleted from Wikipedia
Jump to: navigation, search
This article was considered for deletion at Wikipedia on September 8 2017. This is a backup of Wikipedia:BeeHex. All of its AfDs can be found at Wikipedia:Special:PrefixIndex/Wikipedia:Articles_for_deletion/BeeHex, the first at Wikipedia:Wikipedia:Articles_for_deletion/BeeHex. Purge

Template:COI

company

BeeHex is a Columbus, Ohio headquartered[1] business-to-business company that specializes in 3D food printing cofounded by engineers Anjan Contractor, Jordan French, Chintan Kanuga and attorney Ben Feltner.[2][3]

Background

In 2013, BeeHex cofounder Anjan Contractor was awarded a NASA grant under the Small Business Innovation Research program to help produce the world’s first 3D food printer usable in space.[4][5] Contractor applied for a grant under SBIR phase II but due to a reduction in NASA funding the 3D food printing initiative was postponed.[6] In response, Contractor recruited engineers Jordan French and Chintan Kanuga and attorney Ben Feltner in 2015 to form BeeHex, Inc. in 2016.[7]

At South by Southwest Interactive, BeeHex printers 3D printed pizza in the shape of the United States.[8] Following the exhibition producers from ABC’s Shark Tank called BeeHex to ask the company to pitch its business on the television program.[9] In April 2016, the company was accepted into Plug & Play’s start up accelerator program in Sunnyvale, California.[10]

The company introduced 3D food printing to the International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory in Braga, Portugal.[11]

In 2017, TechCrunch reported that BeeHex had raised a $1 million seed round led by Donatos Pizza founder Jim Grote. The company launched its first product at International Pizza Expo in Las Vegas, Nevada.[12]

Products

BeeHex’s robots 3D print food using a patent-pending pneumatic system that operates as a piston to control the 3D printing of food.[13][14] The company’s 3D printing robot follows instructions from a computer-aided design to extrude food into shapes on a print bed, layer by layer and uses multiple food materials.[2][6] The BeeHex pizza printer communicates with a computer to accept input files that articulate a specific shape and recipe using pizza dough, tomato sauce, and mozzarella cheese on demand.[15][16] BeeHex engineers developed a mobile app that allows users to customize food and receive a push notification when it is ready for pick up.[17]

References

  1. "NASA-Born BeeHex Makes 3D Printed Pizza Palatable, Brings R&D Operations to Ohio". 3D Print. https://3dprint.com/165961/beehex-site-visit/. Retrieved 24 February 2017. 
  2. 2.0 2.1 "How the BeeHex Pizza 3D Printer Works". Tech Insider. http://www.techinsider.io/how-the-beehex-pizza-3d-printer-works-2016-6. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  3. "This Robot will 3D-Print a Pizza for you in Minutes". Thrillist. https://www.thrillist.com/news/nation/beehex-is-a-new-robot-that-3d-prints-your-pizza. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  4. "The Audacious Plan to End Hunger with 3D Printed Food". QZ Magazine. http://qz.com/86685/the-audacious-plan-to-end-hunger-with-3-d-printed-food/. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  5. "Daily Dish: 3D Printed Pizza". The Daily Meal. http://www.thedailymeal.com/eat/daily-dish-3d-printed-pizza. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  6. 6.0 6.1 "NASA’s 3D Food Printer will Make Pizza at Amusement Parks". Vice Magazine. http://motherboard.vice.com/read/nasas-3d-food-printer-will-make-pizza-at-amusement-parks. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  7. "A few Questions for BeeHex". 3D Print. https://3dprint.com/124802/a-few-questions-for-beehex/. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  8. "Tech Tuesday: 3D Printed Food". KVUE. http://www.kvue.com/tech/tech-tuesday-3-d-printed-food/84405941. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  9. "Inside a Shark Tank Pitch: BeeHex's 3D Printed Pizzas". Austin Inno. http://austininno.streetwise.co/2016/04/13/3d-printed-pizza-company-in-austin-beehex-shark-tank-pitch/. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  10. "A Company Combined 3D Printing and Pizza and the Results are Delicious". Plug & Play. http://plugandplaytechcenter.com/2016/03/21/beehex-3d-prints-pizza/. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  11. "Cimeira ‘NanoDigest’ revela no INL impressão de pizzas de astronautas". Correio Dominho. http://www.correiodominho.com/noticias.php?id=97736. Retrieved 28 October 2016. 
  12. "BeeHex Cooks Up $1 Million for 3D Food Printers that Make Pizzas". TechCrunch. https://techcrunch.com/2017/02/28/beehex-cooks-up-1-million-for-3d-food-printers-that-make-pizzas/. Retrieved 3 March 2017. 
  13. "3D pizza printer heading to ‘Shark Tank’ appearance; Vandy alum is company’s CMO". Vanderbilt University Press. http://engineering.vanderbilt.edu/news/2016/3d-pizza-printer-heading-to-%E2%80%98shark-tank%E2%80%99-appearance-vandy-alum-is-company%E2%80%99s-cmo/. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  14. "Nasa cria impressora 3D de pizza - e ela vai ser usada na Terra". Super Abril. http://super.abril.com.br/tecnologia/nasa-cria-impressora-3d-de-pizza-e-ela-vai-ser-usada-na-terra. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  15. "Printing Your Palate". QSR Magazine. https://www.qsrmagazine.com/technology/printing-your-palate/. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  16. "Company to commercialize NASA financed 3D pizza printer". US Blasting News. http://us.blastingnews.com/tech/2016/08/company-to-commercialize-nasa-financed-3d-pizza-printer-001061681.html. Retrieved 20 August 2016. 
  17. "NASA Wants Austronauts to have 3D Printed Pizza and this Startup is Building a Printer to Make it Happen". Digital Trends. http://www.digitaltrends.com/cool-tech/beehex-3d-printed-pizza/. Retrieved 20 August 2016.