Debarghya Das

From Deletionpedia.org: a home for articles deleted from Wikipedia
Jump to: navigation, search
This article was considered for deletion at Wikipedia on April 30 2014. This is a backup of Wikipedia:Debarghya_Das. All of its AfDs can be found at Wikipedia:Special:PrefixIndex/Wikipedia:Articles_for_deletion/Debarghya_Das, the first at Wikipedia:Wikipedia:Articles_for_deletion/Debarghya_Das. Purge

Debarghya Das (born September 19, 1992), is an Indian student studying at Cornell University known for downloading results of the Indian Certificate of Secondary Education national examination for over one hundred thousand students by scraping the website. His analysis of the data on his blog post showed surprising gaps and other patterns, suggesting that the data had been manipulated.[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14][15][16]

References

  1. "Indian student in Cornell University hacks into ICSE, ISC database". Times Of India. 2013-06-06. http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2013-06-06/security/39787770_1_cisce-icse-gerry-arathoon. 
  2. "He didn't hack, he scraped ICSE results and look what he found". NDTV Gadgets. 2013-06-06. http://gadgets.ndtv.com/internet/news/he-didnt-hack-he-scraped-icse-results-and-look-what-he-found-376256. 
  3. "Cornell Student Scrapes Indian Exam Results, Exposes the System’s Flaws". Scientific American. 2013-06-13. http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/guest-blog/2013/06/13/cornell-student-scrapes-indian-exam-results-exposes-the-systems-flaws/. 
  4. "Hacking high school exams and foiling them with statistics". Hackaday. 2013-06-05. http://hackaday.com/2013/06/05/hacking-high-school-exams-and-foiling-them-with-statistics/. 
  5. "Hacker reveals problematic marking system for Boards". The Sunday Guardian. 2013-06-08. http://www.sunday-guardian.com/technologic/hacker-reveals-problematic-marking-system-for-boards. 
  6. "'These marks have been tampered with': Sensational claim of US student who hacked CISCE results". The Daily Mail. 2013-06-05. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahome/indianews/article-2336480/Debarghya-Das-US-student-hacked-CISCE-results-claims-These-marks-tampered-with.html?ito=feeds-newsxml. 
  7. "20-year old Cornell student and Google Intern hacks Indian exams database". Fast Company. 2013-06-06. http://www.fastcompany.com/3012543/fast-feed/20-year-old-cornell-student-and-google-intern-hacks-indian-exams-database. 
  8. "'The CICSE Board Is Fraudulent And Guilty Of Mark Tampering'". Outlook India. 2013-06-05. http://blogs.outlookindia.com/default.aspx?ddm=10&pid=2988&eid=31. 
  9. "College student hacks 10th, 12th board results,reveals system loopholes". Daily Bhaskar. 2013-06-05. http://daily.bhaskar.com/article/DEL-college-student-hacks-10th-12th-board-resultsreveals-system-loopholes-4283728-NOR.html. 
  10. "College boy hacks ICSE, ISC results". Hindustan Times. 2013-06-06. http://www.hindustantimes.com/India-news/kolkata/College-boy-hacks-ICSE-ISC-results/Article1-1071714.aspx. 
  11. "Hacking Into the Indian Education System". Columbia University EdLab. 2013-06-04. http://edlab.tc.columbia.edu/index.php?q=node/9494. 
  12. "US student hacks ICSE website, exposes anomalies in results". India Today. 2013-06-06. http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/icse-isc-icse-hacking-debarghya-das-cornell-university-cisce/1/278719.html. 
  13. "Indian-Origin US Grad Hacks into ICSE, ISE Database, Exposes Anomalies". IB Times. 2013-06-06. http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/articles/475594/20130606/debhargya-das-icse-ise-website-results-hacked.htm. 
  14. "Indian student from US hacks ICSE, ISC marking data base". India TV. 2013-06-06. http://www.indiatvnews.com/news/india/indian-student-from-us-hacks-icse-isc-marking-data-base--23620.html. 
  15. "How an Indian college graduate hacked ICSE, ISC results website". FirstPost. 2013-06-06. http://www.firstpost.com/tech/how-an-indian-college-graduate-hacked-icse-isc-results-website-845135.html. 
  16. "Class 10 ICSE results hacked?". Deccan Chronicle. 2013-06-06. http://www.deccanchronicle.com/130606/news-current-affairs/article/class-10-icse-results-hacked.